BBA Honors in Tourism and Hospitality Management

National University Grading System

The National University Grading system is CGPA and measures on a scale of 4.0. The most popular programs at the National University are Honours, Degree, and Masters. All the program’s grading systems are the same and follow the NU Standard Grading system and Promotion Policy. You can calculate your Honours CGPA and Degree CGPA Online with our GPA calculators. Look at the table below for the NU grading system.

National University Grading System

National University Grading System:

Class Interval (Marks) Letter Grades Grade Points
80% and above A+ 4.00
75% to less than 80% A 3.75
70% to less than 75% A- 3.50
65% to less than 70% B+ 3.25
60% to less than 65% B 3.00
55% to less than60% B- 2.75
50% to less than 55% C+ 2.50
45% to less than 50% C 2.25
40% to less than 45% D 2.00
Less than 40% F 0.00

To pass a course, a student must obtain at least 40% marks, a D grade, or a grade point of 2.00. The letter grades and grade points are assigned based on the total marks of written, practical, and oral exams of a course. The non-credit English courses are not included in the grading system.

National University Class Grading System

The NU class grading system follows the British undergraduate degree classification system, which assigns a class or division based on the CGPA range. The NU class grading system is as follows:

National University Grading System by Class:

  • CGPA of 3.00 to 4.00 = First Class
  • CGPA of 2.25 to 2.99 = Second Class
  • CGPA of 2.00 to 2.24 = Third Class

How to calculate the National University CGPA

A Student’s total Earned Points for the whole year will be divided by the total credits offered in one year. Students have to get at least D grade to add points. If a student gets below the 40% marks or F grade can retake the examination next year and improve their marks and grade to add in total points. Make sure that the Final CGPA will count when there is no F grade. Student can improve their grade by re-taking the examination. Students having grades F, D, C+, and C can improve their grades.

Calculation Process:

The GPA (Grade Point Average) is calculated by dividing the total points secured in an academic year by the total credit offered in that year. The total point secured is obtained by multiplying the grade point and the credit of each course. For example, if a student takes four courses in a year, each with four credits, and obtains A+, A, B+, and C grades respectively, then his/her GPA will be:

CGPA = (4 x 4) + (3.75 x 4) + (3.25 x 4) + (2.25 x 4) / (4 x 4)

= 16 + 15 + 13 + 9 / 16

= 3.31

National University Promotion Policy

To get a promotion from one year to another, a student must fulfill certain criteria based on their grades and attendance. The NU promotion policy is as follows:

  • From first year to second year: A student must obtain at least a D grade in three courses in the theoretical exam.
  • Second year to third year: A student must obtain at least a D grade in three courses in the theoretical exam.
  • Third year to fourth year: A student must obtain at least a D grade in four courses in the theoretical exam.
  • A student must attend both theoretical and practical exams in each course compulsorily.
  • Student who is absent in one course but present in others can be promoted if he/she passes those courses.
  • Student who obtains an F grade in any course can get a chance to improve his/her grade in the following year.
  • A student who fails to improve his/her F grade in the second attempt will not be promoted to the next year.

We hope this blog post has helped you understand the NU grading system and how to calculate your CGPA.

To Get Full Year Study Relevant


Honor’s 1st Year 

Honor’s 2nd Year 

Honor’s 3rd Year 

Honor’s 4th Year 

Just Click The Link Given Below